NWHL replacing commissioner, moving to individual ownership model: Sources

How the NWHL got here

Hailey Salvian, Senators beat writer: When Rylan Kearney founded the league five years ago, it became the first professional women’s league to be based in the United States. The league’s model has been a bone of contention for years. So far, the league has relied on the financing of private investors and league sponsors.

The goal from Year 1 was always to have private owners for all its franchises. Out of six teams, only two — Boston and Toronto — currently have private owners. The Toronto Six joined the league in the spring with an ownership group already in place.

What do the changes mean?

Salvian: Since founding the league, Rylan Kearney has been something of a controversial figure in the sport. Some of the top women’s hockey players have boycotted the NWHL and formed the PWHPA. The group says it does not

Read More Read more

N.W.H.L. Prioritizes Independent Team Ownership in New Model

Tyler Tumminia has been named the interim commissioner of the National Women’s Hockey League, replacing the league’s founder, Dani Rylan Kearney.

The N.W.H.L. confirmed the change on Monday and announced that it was switching its operational model to an unincorporated association with a six-person board of governors to ensure “alignment of interests between the league and its teams.”

Under the previous system, the six-team league was owned by a group of investors that also controlled four of the league’s clubs, in the New York metropolitan area, Connecticut, Minnesota and Buffalo. Although the league sought independent owners for all six franchises, only two teams are independently owned — the Boston Pride and the Toronto Six, an expansion club for the 2020-21 season.

Since its inception in 2015, the N.W.H.L. operated more like a single entity — like Major League Soccer — with salary limits and investors or shareholders controlling major decisions

Read More Read more