N.W.H.L. Prioritizes Independent Team Ownership in New Model

Tyler Tumminia has been named the interim commissioner of the National Women’s Hockey League, replacing the league’s founder, Dani Rylan Kearney.

The N.W.H.L. confirmed the change on Monday and announced that it was switching its operational model to an unincorporated association with a six-person board of governors to ensure “alignment of interests between the league and its teams.”

Under the previous system, the six-team league was owned by a group of investors that also controlled four of the league’s clubs, in the New York metropolitan area, Connecticut, Minnesota and Buffalo. Although the league sought independent owners for all six franchises, only two teams are independently owned — the Boston Pride and the Toronto Six, an expansion club for the 2020-21 season.

Since its inception in 2015, the N.W.H.L. operated more like a single entity — like Major League Soccer — with salary limits and investors or shareholders controlling major decisions

Read More Read more